Staal Cleared for Contact

A little late here but my Monday was filled with playing hockey, a family party, a migraine headache and the Ranger game, leaving me little time to post this.

Marc Staal was cleared for contact Monday morning after meeting with Dr. Robert Cantu at Boston University last week. Staal has been out the entire season after suffering a concussion last February against the Carolina Hurricanes. He played the rest of the season before complaining of headaches this offseason.

“I did some battle drills down low, took some hits,” Staal said Monday after practice. “It was good. Obviously I didn’t feel great after two days off, physically, but I felt good enough to start doing drills.”

Staal said he did some “pushing and shoving” and even took a few head bumps against the glass, but said he was OK. “There’s no doubt in my mind that this was the right thing to do,” he said. “I still need some more work. I don’t feel as if I’m ready to play 25 minutes a night like I was last year again. It’s coming along a lot better. I feel a lot strong on the ice and it’s starting to come. But it’s not where it needs to be yet.”

Follow Matt on Twitter @MattCalamia

Leave a Reply

