Staal Continues to Skate, Rupp Close to Returning and 24/7 Reaction

The morning after the debut of 24/7, and it appears most people— including myself— were pretty pleased with the outcome. Now, back to the season.

Marc Staal skated hard today at the Rangers’ morning skate in St. Louis, where they’ll take on the Blues tonight at 8 pm. Staal, who has been out the whole season, said “today was the hardest I’ve skated in a really long time. Yesterday, I had a tough, hard workout. The last week has gone really well with the workouts I’ve been doing. It’s kind of a wait-and-see how I’m feeling, but with the way my work has gone, the rest of the day should go pretty well.

“The unknown is the hardest part,” Staal added. “You’re waiting for things to happen and it does, it’s really frustrating.” There is still no timetable for Staal’s return.

Mike Rupp, who has been injured since late October, did a bag skate today and said he’s shooting for Saturday night’s game against the Phoenix Coyotes for his return, and if not, Tuesday night against one of his former teams, the New Jersey Devils.

Tim Erixon was recalled Wednesday from the Connecticut Whale (AHL) for insurance reasons after Steve Eminger took a shot off the wrist against the Dallas Stars Tuesday night. Eminger is expected to play against the Blues.

Onto 24/7, which as I said above, received positive reviews throughout the hockey world.

Like many, Brian Boyle pinpointed the Artem Anisimov riffle incident against the Tampa Bay Lightning as one of his favorite moments. “There were a few moments,” Boyle said. “When Aves [Sean Avery] came into the room and laughed, no words, just a smirk, I thought that was priceless. That probably when I laughed the hardest.”

Ruslan Fedotenko, who to my knowledge did not appear in the episode at all, said “it was pretty funny. I was able to catch the second-half. It was pretty funny with Artie, to see his side.”

What did the man of the hour think? “Nothing. I don’t want to comment,” Anisimov said. “But I like the show. The idea is great. HBO did a great job.”

In his best John Tortorella, head coach John Tortorella said “I’m not going to have a running comment on the show.” What a party-pooper.

Follow Matt on Twitter @MattCalamia

Leave a Reply

