Dubinsky: Shelly is a “Terrible Hockey Player”

The war of words have begun between the Rangers and the Philadelphia Flyers follow the debut of HBO’s 24/7 series on Friday night.

In the 15-minute premiere, Flyers forward and former Ranger Jody Shelly compared Brandon Dubinsky to a “weasel.”

Well, Dubinsky didn’t take kindly to Shelley’s comment, and responded by calling the 35-year-old enforcer a “terrible hockey player” at today’s Winter Classic jersey unveiling.

“First of all, if I was him, I’d keep my mouth shut if I don’t play, especially since I never see him on the ice,” Dubinsky said of Shelly, who spent part of the 2009-10 season in New York. Shelley has played in just 10 games this season for the Flyers. “He’s usually just yapping from the bench, and I guess now he’s yapping from behind the video camera. So that’s about all I have to say.”

Dubinsky wasn’t done there. “Jody Shelley- it won’t be long before he’s out of the league, because he’s a terrible hockey player.”

Shelley wasn’t the only one feeling the wrath of Dubinsky Monday, as the 25-year-old also had some choice words for Flyers forward Zac Rinaldo, who took a run at Sean Avery early in the first period. A Rinaldo hit on Michael Sauer separated the defenseman’s shoulder in the preseason.

“I think he’s an idiot,” Dubinsky said of Rinaldo. “And I think that, I mean, he’s not really a good hockey player. So if that’s what he tries to do to get under our skin, I don’t think it works very well. He’s not very effective at all. I think they should just keep putting him on the ice, because he’s a liability against us.”

Well if the preview for 24/7 didn’t do it for you, Dubinsky no doubt has gotten everyone ready for the series and the Winter Classic. I love the fire and the hatred Dubinsky is showing towards the Flyers, and I’m actually excited to see both Shelley, Rinaldo and company respond. 

Follow Matt on Twitter @MattCalamia

One Response to Dubinsky: Shelly is a “Terrible Hockey Player”

Leave a Reply

