Avery Only Wants to Play for Rangers

In a story today by Andrew Gross over at the Bergen Record (N.J.), “former” Ranger Sean Avery said he Rangers are the only team he wants to play for, and he’d take very little money to come back if that’s what it took.

The 31-year-old winger said money will not be an option if he is able to play his way back up to the NHL after this season, which will no doubt span its entirety in the AHL with the Connecticut Whale.

“The fact of the matter is I don’t need the money,” Avert said. “I have a lot of other things going on that is going to pay me when I’m done playing hockey.” He said he’d play for the league minimum of $500,000 if he had to.

Even after getting run out of town by head coach John Tortorella, Avery said he’d play for him again if he had the change. “I can play for any coach, I’ve play for a lot of [bad] coaches,” Avery said. “I’ve played for some great coaches.”

Avery acknowledged that few- if any- teams would claim him on re-entry waivers if the Rangers did in fact call him up. The Rangers, though, do not want to risk that happening and having $1 million in dead cap-space on their payroll. 

“The problem with me is that I have no boundaries when I play for a team,” Avery said. “I’ll do and I’ve done bad things and that’s what I do when I play for a team that I love playing for.”

He said he does not want to stay in New York and play for either the New York Islanders or New Jersey Devils. It’s Rangers or nothing.

It could be because I’m a very big Avery supporter, but I really feel for the guy. I think he has more friends on the team than people give him credit for. I still believe it was a mistake to keep Erik Christensen on over Avery, especially when Christensen has been a ghost thus-far, playing in four of the team’s five games, and going 0-for-1 in the shootout.

It does pose a pretty good question. Would you take on Avery next year as a spare-forward for the league minimum of $500,000? How about $750,000? I think that would be a no-brainer.

Follow Matt on Twitter @MattCalamia

One Response to Avery Only Wants to Play for Rangers

  1. John gagliano says:

    Hell no he had 2 chances with the rangers. He screwed up torts didn’t want him to begin with.

Leave a Reply

